Overview

There are a few scenarios where you might want to delete a Map Layer, for example;

  • When the data is no longer relevant
  • If you've made a mistake when creating a new Map Layer, e.g. if you choose the wrong geometry type
  • If you're simply experimenting with new layers and want to remove them


Important Note: When deleting a Map Layer this is a permanent and irreversible action.


Note: Please don't confuse this operation with deleting an individual feature stored within a Map Layer. To remove an individual feature from a Map Layer, see the article on Feature Editing.


Method

To delete a Map Layer:

  1. Log into your account
  2. Click the Cog icon in the top right corner
  3. Click Administration
  4. Click My Layers (but it should already be selected)
  5. Click the Title of the Layer you want to delete. This will highlight it in grey.
  6. Click the Delete icon (bin icon)
  7. Type DELETE to confirm you want to delete the Map Layer
  8. Click Delete to confirm again.