This module is specific to Parish Online and may not be available in other XMAP accounts.


Overview

The User Manger Module within Parish Online allows you to take greater control of your account. Instead of one Username and Password for your Parish Online account, it allows you to create multiple users with different levels of editing rights.


This is useful when you want more staff to access and view Parish Online but, to put it politely, "you don't want them to mess it up".


The User Manager Module has four privilege levels:

  • Administrator. There is only one Administrator for your Parish Online account. This should be held by the Parish Clerk or whoever has overall management of Parish Online.
  • Data Manager. This level of user has all the privileges as the Administrator, but they cannot access the User Manager to create/modify/delete other users.
  • Editor. This level of user has full editing rights for Map Layers (adding, modifying and deleting Map Objects) but they cannot create new Map Layers or modify the structure of Map Layers.
  • Reader. This level of user can view all the Map Layers in Parish Online, but they have no Map Layer or Map Object editing privileges.


You can create as many Users within Parish Online as you like, but you must be careful to:

  • Not give out too many users so that it becomes difficult to manage
  • Consider the privileges you are giving a user and the implications that may have
  • Not give out user accounts so people can use your Parish Online account for non-Parish-related business (as this contravenes ours and Ordnance Survey's terms and conditions).


Creating a New User

To create a new User:

  1. Go to the Control Panel
  2. Expand the User Manager
  3. Click Add User
  4. Enter a username, a full name, an email address and choose a privilege level
  5. Click Save
  6. You can then copy and paste the login information to your colleague.
  7. Click Close


Modify a User

To modify the details of a User:

  1. Go to the Control Panel
  2. Expand the User Manager
  3. Click the Edit button to the right of the User's name
  4. Change available fields as required
  5. Click the Key icon to change their password, and click Yes to confirm.
  6. Click Save
  7. Click Close


Delete a User

To delete a User:

  1. Go to the Control Panel
  2. Expand the User Manager
  3. Click the Edit button to the right of the User's name
  4. Click the X button to the right of the username
  5. Enter the word 'DELETE' and click OK
  6. Click Ok


Note: There are 5 preset users which cannot be deleted.



Availability

To add the User Manager to your account, Raise a Support ticket and we'll do that for you.